Drilon, opposition senators voted "no" on Mindanao Martial Law extension says unconstitutional and no basis - The Daily Sentry

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Drilon, opposition senators voted "no" on Mindanao Martial Law extension says unconstitutional and no basis

Franklin Drilon |  Francis Pangilinan | Risa Hontiveros | Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV | Photo from GMA
Opposition senator and Minority Floor Leader Franklin Drilon has disagreed on the another year extension of martial law in Mindanao, noting that military rule should only be intended to quell continuing actual rebellion and uprising.

Not in favor to extension

Drilon has stressed this remarks during the joint session of the Senate and the Congress to tackle the request of President Rodrigo Duterte to further extend martial law for another year.

“There was never a citation there that there was an actual uprising. There is no factual basis for martial law as defined by the Supreme Court,” he said in a statement.

The senator also pointed out that the extension of the martial law in the southern region in unconstitutional and has no factual basis for extension.

“The proposed second extension of martial law is unconstitutional…There is no basis for a second extension of martial law as there was no ground that necessitated the first extension,” he said.

Sen.  Franklin Drilon | Photo from Philstar

“I may sound like a broken record but for the nth time, I would repeat: there is no actual rebellion. Rebellion no longer persists in Mindanao,” the senator stressed.

The opposition lawmaker said that the government troops AFP and PNP can very well exercise their powers under the law without placing the region under martial law.

Request granted

President Duterte's request for extension of  has been granted as the Senate and House of Representatives, in a joint session, voted 235-28-1, in favor of Duterte’s request to extend the military rule in Mindanao which will end on December 31, 2019.

Twelve senators voted in favor of the extension, while five voted against it, and one abstained.

Mindanaoans on a Martial Situation | Photo from Eagle news

Those who favored and voted yes in the Senate are Senate President Vicente Sotto III, Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri, and Senators Gregorio Honasan II. Panfilo Lacson, Richard Gordon, Cynthia Villar, Grace Poe, Koko Pimentel, JV Ejercito, Sonny Angara, Sherwin Gatchalian, and Manny Pacquiao Pacquiao.

While opposition senators voted no are Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV, Franklin Drilon, Francis Escudero, Risa Hontiveros, and Francis Pangilinan; while Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto abstained.

Duterte has declared martial law in Mindanao following the breakout of Marawi siege in May 2017.


Dear avid readers, what do you think of this article? Please share your thoughts in the comment section below.

Source: GMA, Rappler